Skip navigation
3149 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Mar 19, 2014 11:45 AM by WillB RSS
pejacoby Level 1 15 posts since
Dec 9, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

May 31, 2012 10:23 AM

WAS Authentication 'Test' button?

I'm new to the WAS module, but I'm already frustrated by the lack of a "TEST" button for the Authentication setup.

It would be very valuable to be able to immediately test my entries for Form, Server, or Selenium script authentication without having to run a Discovery scan.  Having to do a scan to see if my form fields are named right or my password got typed wrong is tedious and time-consuming.

That said, it would also be nice if there was one screen used to list and manage the various Authentication Records.

• Axel Level 3 149 posts since
    Jul 23, 2010
    May 31, 2012 12:30 PM (in response to pejacoby)

Hi,

We completely agree that the authentication test feature would definitely help anyone who just wants to test if credentials are correct without having to launch a scan. This is in fact something that we already have in our roadmap, but we could not have implemented it yet due to the way our scanner appliances connect to our datacenter.

I will discuss it again with our scan team to see if we can come to a working solution in the near future, but this is definitely something that we expect to have in the application.

Jul 23, 2010
    May 31, 2012 12:46 PM (in response to pejacoby)
    Authentication Records List

Also, concerning the list of authentication records, this would be indeed a good addition.

When we first implemented support of authentication records, we expected an authentication record to be tighted to a web application and it would then have been more logical to edit it from this latter. But feedback from customers leads us indeed to think that a dedicated list of authentication records would facilitate their management and we have therefore added it to our roadmap, for Q4 this year (would be in WAS UI 2.6).